Why did you delete your account

Apps / software Delete a Skype account - this is how it works

display

You don't want to use Skype anymore and delete your account there? It's not that easy. Because in order to delete your Skype account, you have to delete your entire Microsoft account as well. If you still want to do that, we have instructions ready for you. We will also show you a possible alternative that does not require deletion.

When you delete your Skype account, you will also delete your Microsoft account. If you use this for OneDrive or Outlook-Online, for example, this data will also be lost. If you want to continue using the other Microsoft services, it would be better not to delete your Skype account. Instead, you could make your account invisible. However, if you no longer need your Microsoft account, you can continue here.

Deleting a Skype account - you should pay attention to this

Here are some things to do before you delete your Skype account:

  1. Save important data from other Microsoft products or services (OneDrive, Outlook, etc.) elsewhere. Because this data can no longer be found after deleting your Skype account.
  2. Use up all your Skype credit from your account, otherwise it will be lost.
  3. Cancel ongoing subscriptions as they will continue to be topped up automatically until your account has been permanently deleted.

Note: If you delete your account, you will still have 60 days to access your data and can reactivate your Skype account. All you have to do is log in using your Skype login details. You will then be asked if you want to reactivate your account. After the 60 days, your Skype and Microsoft accounts will then irrevocably deleted.

Delete Microsoft account

Note: If you have an old Skype account without a Microsoft account link, you must first connect it to a Microsoft account in order to delete it. You can see how this works in these instructions.

Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

display

Make your Skype account invisible

If you don't want to delete your Microsoft account, you can make your account invisible. The account will then no longer be listed in the Skype Directory and you can no longer be found.

  1. contact www.skype.com at.
  2. In the top left, click your profile pic.
  3. Scroll down to the "Profile settings"and then deactivate the box"Show in search results and suggestions".

Deleting old Skype accounts

  1. Go on https://account.microsoft.com. Sign out if you are already signed in.
  2. Log into your Skype account when prompted.
  3. You will now receive a Account update message (Link to Microsoft account) if you have not yet updated your Skype account.
  4. Then select "Further" out.
  5. Add an email address to your account. Be careful you no email address take that with you other Microsoft services like OneDrive connected is.
  6. Your Skype account is now also a Microsoft account and can be deleted using these instructions.

Quick guide: delete Microsoft account

  1. Go on the following link to close the account.
  2. Sign in with your Login data and run the Identity verification by.
  3. After that, enter your received code and click on "To confirm".
  4. After you have the important notices have read on this page, go to "Further".
  5. Confirm all of the items listed with a check mark and select a reason for closing your account. Then go to "Mark as account to close"and click on"Finished".